## **Avon Athletic Association**

**Minutes [UNRATIFIED]** of the 2024 Annual General Meeting of the Avon Athletic Association, held on Monday March 18th 2024, by Zoom, starting at 7.00pm.

Those Present: Martin Bates (North Somerset AC, David Britton (Bitton Road Runners), Debbie Brooks (Yate & District AC), John Deaton (General Secretary), Mike Down (Life Vice-President), Roland Gibbard, Pam Gooding (President), Ray Gooding (Life Vice-President / Endurance Officials Secretary), Steve Grant (Track and Field Officials Secretary), James Murphy (Welfare / Westbury Harriers), Hilary Nash (Treasurer / Bristol & West AC), John Robbins (Life Vice-President), Jim Strudwick (Avon Schools AA), Mark Thomas (Team Bath AC), Mark Watts (GWR).

**Apologies**: Andy Heyes (Clevedon AC), Ian Macintosh (Life Member), Neil Miller (Westbury Harriers), Arthur Renshaw (Thornbury RC).

Pam Gooding took the Chair to open the meeting.

Minutes of Previous AGM (April 5th 2023): accepted.

Matters Arising: None.

Chairperson's Remarks: (No report, as position remained vacant during the 2023-24 Association Year).

**Secretary's Report:** The Secretary apologised for its late circulation. Copies are available on request. The Secretary emphasised this statement from his Report:

"The Association failed at the 2023 AGM to elect a successor to John Robbins (who, to remind you, gave twelve months' notice of his impending withdrawal from the post). While there were no identifiable issues during the 2023-24 Avon AA Year arising through lack of a Chairperson, there is the nagging doubt about what could crop up in the future." [End of quote].

The Report was accepted.

Treasurer's Report for 2023: (distributed in advance; copies available on request): Accepted.

**Election of Officers**: (John Robbins took the Chair of the meeting from this point)

President: Pam Gooding Proposed: John Robbins; Seconded: James Murphy. Re-elected.

Chairperson: No Nominations

Secretary: John Deaton Proposed: John Robbins; Seconded: James Murphy. Re-elected. Treasurer: Hilary Nash Proposed: John Robbins; Seconded: John Deaton. Re-elected.

Officials Secretary (T&F)

Officials Secretary (Endurance)

Steve Grant

Officials Secretary (Endurance)

Steve Grant

Cross-Country Coordinator

Officials Secretary (Endurance)

Steve Grant

Proposed: John Robbins; Seconded: Roland Gibbard. Elected.

Proposed: John Robbins; Seconded: Hilary Nash. Re-elected.

Road Running Coordinator Arthur Renshaw Re-elected subject to acceptance.

Track and Field Coordinator No nomination

Sportshall Coordinator Dave Turner Re-elected subject to acceptance.

Welfare Officer James Murphy Proposed: John Robbins; Secnded: Mark Thomas. Re-elected. Webmaster John Deaton Proposed: Steve Grant; Seconded: Mark Thomas. Re-elected. Coaching Coordinator Jim Strudwick Proposed: Hilary Nash; Seconded: Martin Bates. Re-elected.

**Election of Trustees**: With the passing of Mike Strange, there was a vacancy among the Trustees. The meeting was due to appoint a Trustee for the period up to the 2027 AGM, but no nominations were forthcoming. The matter would be deferred until the next Full Committee Meeting. Anyone interested in taking up the post can contact John Robbins to find what the post entails.

**Election of Independent Examiner:** Nick Till was proposed for re-appointment subject to consent (proposed: Hilary Nash, seconded by John Robbins).

Meeting Closed at about 7.35pm.